Chattanooga State Presents 2021 Hats Off to Excellence Awards

May 12, 2021 | Betty A. Proctor | Internal Press Release

hats off to excellence 21 artwork

Hats Off to Excellence is Chattanooga State’s annual awards ceremony to highlight exceptional students, faculty and staff. The virtual presentation premiered Thursday, April 29 covering ten award categories. The ceremony can be viewed on YouTube at

Distinguished Service Awards:

President's Award – Kansas Bradley, Deborah Hale, Megan Mathews

  • Awardees have made a positive contribution to Chattanooga State Community College through their academic achievements, involvement in campus life, contributions to the campus community, or through their service to the community surrounding Chattanooga State.

Eye of the Tiger – Reagan Brown, Keely Farris, Rocio Perez Ferrerio, Carla Frizzell, Adrian Grier, Anna Jones, Nicholas Korseska, Yesenia Miranda Lopez, Heather Sisemore, Melissa Staton, Zachary Tate

  • Awardees have succeeded while persisting against difficult situations.

Advisor of the Year – Silang Sam, Asian Culture Club

  • Nominees are made by members of clubs and organizations and then determined by a selection committee comprised of faculty and staff.

Debbie Waggoner Above & Beyond Award – Marsha ​Barker-​Goolesby, Adult Services director

  • The late Debbie Waggoner’s battle with cancer took her from us prematurely, but not before she left her legacy of student advocacy. Debbie worked ardently on behalf of students, and as the award is named, she went “above and beyond” the call of duty.

Club of the Year - C.AD.R.E (Adult Student Club)

  • Only organizations that have achieved “Platinum” status within the Steps to Success rewards program will be eligible to receive the Student Organization of the Year as determined by a selection committee comprised of faculty and staff.

All-Tennessee Academic Team Awards – Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK)

All-Tennessee Transfer Pathway Scholars – Leanna Harmon and Macy Tidmore
All-Tennessee Workforce Pathway Scholars – Kylee Hancock and Savannah Hinderer
New Century Transfer Scholar representing Tennessee – Leanna Harmon
2021 Coca-Cola National Academic Team Bronze Scholar – Macy Tidmore

  • The 4.0 Awards are presented to students with a 4.0 GPA at the end of the 2020 fall semester, filed an intent to graduate, and who also have at least 40 credit hours at Chattanooga State.

4.0 Awards by Division:

  • Business – Ramzy Alahmad, Alison Branum, Malinda Hickman, Lakyn Moore, Miraina Patel, Jordan Rattanavong, Brittany Santiago
  • Engineering & Information Technologies – John Bowman, Kyler Dennis, Brandon Hellin, Roderick Musgrave, Robert Trieber
  • Humanities & Fine Arts – Sasha Hitachi-Kizziah, Luna Kilpatrick, Robert Steely, Emma Tuttle
  • Math & Sciences – Abdol-Munim Abazid, Megan Ackerman, Lindsey Beacham, Madison Bradshaw, David Brown, Savannah Cooksey, Robin Eaton, Alexis Haney, Kailey Ingles, Alexandria Laughrey, Teagan Murphy, Saba Mustafa, Emma Myers, Alyssa Pendleton, Evyn Price, Tyeler Rawlins, Skyler Shrum, Mya Vandiver, Megan Wooten
  • Nursing & Allied Health- Alina Drevenchuk, Lydia Hinchman, Bethany Hummer, Caroline Kaplan, Savannah Kelso, Mollie McClelland, Ansley McMillan, Elsa Moody, Kaylie Moores, Jonathan Parker, Joanna Rush, Dana Sharp, Kyra Sheron, Brooke Sutton
  • Social & Behavioral Sciences – Gabriella Dupuy, Kaylin Fugatt, Deborah Hale, Angela Harvey, Jaclyn Nelson, Byron Russell

Division and Departmental Excellence Awards are selected by division deans. Recipients must have filed an intent to graduate and completed at least 40 credit hours at Chattanooga State with at least a 3.5 GPA.

Excellence Awards by Division:

  • Malinda Hickman, Business
  • Javier Ramirez-Alcaide, Engineering & Information Technology
  • Sasha Hitachi-Kizziah, Humanities & Fine Arts
  • Teagan Murphy, Mathematics & Sciences
  • Kari Nicholson, Social Behavior Sciences
  • Jonathan Parker, Nursing & Allied Health

Departmental and Related Club Excellence Awards:


  • Malinda Hickman, Administrative Professional Technology
  • Alison Branum, Entrepreneurship
  • Leah Swafford, Graphic Arts Technology
  • Brandon Lamphier, Management
  • Joel Sawyer, Media Technologies


  • Hannah Johnson, Automated Controls
  • Arame Gueye, Chemical Engineering Technology
  • Drake Christensen, Civil Engineering Technology
  • Kassie Dover, Computer Science
  • Victoria Bates, Computer Systems
  • Jordan Williams, Construction Engineering Technology
  • Mark Ammerman, Cyber Defense
  • John Bowman Electrical Engineering Technology
  • Skyller Beason, Engineering Systems Management
  • Christopher Harmon, General Engineering
  • Javier Ramirez-Alcaide, General Engineering
  • Ami Sanchez-Barrios, General Engineering
  • Olivia Neyman, Industrial Technology
  • Joshua Blakey, Mechatronics Technology
  • Benjamin Sumilong, Networking
  • Madison Hunter, Non-Destructive Testing
  • Robert Trieber, Nuclear Power Engineering Technology
  • Kristian Turner, Nuclear Power Engineering Technology
  • Keelin Doss, Programming
  • John Tyrrell, Radiation Protection Technology
  • Mikala Hughes, VW Mechatronics Technology
  • Timothy Peltier, Service and Leadership, IT HUB


  • Jacob Cronan, Instrumental Music
  • Emily Skiles, Music Theory
  • Roman Creed, Vocal Music
  • Emma Tuttle, Leadership and Writing, Creative Writing Club
  • Nike Reinke, Media and Leadership, Creative Writing Club


  • Erin Wilcox, A&P and Nutrition Tutoring Natural Sciences
  • Madison Bradshaw, Chemistry
  • John Bowman, Mathematics
  • Jesse Springston, Physics


  • Emily Panter, Advanced Pharmacy Technology
  • Todd Johnson, Veterinary Technology Club
  • Lindsey Comer, Veterinary Technology Club


  • Gabriella Dupuy, Anthropology
  • Hannah Masterson, Education
  • Jake Patterson, History Club
  • Laura Farris, Psychology Club
  • Zennia Nesmith, Psychology Club

See what Chattanooga State has for you this fall – we’ll be open! Visit