First recipients of the Michael P. Hennen Scholarship honored

March 6, 2017 | Betty Proctor | College Advancement

The first recipients of the Chattanooga State Foundation’s Michael P. Hennen Scholarship for the 2016-17 academic year were honored recently at a scholarship luncheon hosted by some of the donors.

Established in 2016 by a dedicated group of contributors to the Michael P. Hennen Fund at the Community Foundation, the Michael P. Hennen Scholarship at Chattanooga State provides access and removes financial barriers for students entering the hospitality and tourism degree program at Chattanooga State in one of the four concentrations areas: culinary arts, food and beverage management, hotel management and tourism.

The current Michael P. Hennen Scholars at Chattanooga State are:

Nicholas Austin, Culinary Arts Averee Dilday, Tourism Management Christopher York, Food and Beverage Management Jessica Aldridge, Food and Beverage Management Matthew Gillespie, Culinary Arts Sarah Riggs, Tourism Management

The Michael P. Hennen Scholarship at Chattanooga State honors the spirit of the late Michael Hennen who epitomized the highest level of hospitality, ensuring each guest at Hennen’s received the best possible experience.

Those pictured above are Michael P. Hennen Scholarship recipients (seated, left to right): Jessica Aldridge, Matthew Gillespie, Sarah Riggs, Averee Dilday and Nick Austin. Not pictured is Christopher York. Back row, Hospitality instructor Dan Zink, Interim President of Chattanooga State Debbie Adams, with donors Tim & Corinne Hennen, Jon Kinsey, John Foy and Alexis Bogo.

For more information about Chattanooga State’s Hospitality and Tourism program, visit here.​